Saskatoon, SK — The 2011 WHL Awards Luncheon took place this afternoon in Calgary, AB. This annual awards ceremony recognizes those who have presented outstanding performances throughout the 2010-11 WHL regular season.

Members of the Saskatoon Blades Hockey Club proudly accepted awards for outstanding performance in the 2011 season.

Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy for WHL Executive of the Year — Lorne Molleken

Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy for Defenceman of the YearStefan Elliott (Also the runner-up for the Brad Hornung Most Sportsmanlike Player)

The Saskatoon Blades Hockey Club was also recognized for the 2010-11 season where they were crowned the regular season champions and received the Scotty Munro Memorial Cup.

Three Saskatoon Blades were also recognized on WHL All-Star Teams. In the Eastern Conference – defenceman Stefan Elliott made the first team and on the second team – defenceman Duncan Siemens and forward Brayden Schenn were recognized for their hard work and achievements this season.

Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy recognizes the contributions of a clubs executive on and off the ice. Head Coach and General Manager Lorne Molleken was awarded with the Executive of the Year Award after leading the Saskatoon Blades to their most successful regular season. The 2010-11 team claimed several records in the Saskatoon Blades Hockey Club franchise history, including Most Points in a Single Season – 115, Most Wins in a Single Season – 56 and Most Home Wins in a Single Season – 32.

Stefan Elliott was recognized as the WHL’s best defensive performer by receiving the Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy for Defenceman of the Year. Elliott set a franchise record this season as the defenceman with the most points in franchise history, totally 241 in his four years with the Saskatoon Blades. Stefan Elliott led all WHL defensemen this season in scoring with 31 goals and 50 assists for a total of 81 points.


WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Saskatoon Blades:   GP – 72                W – 56        L – 13      OTL – 1      SL – 2              Pts – 115

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Lorne Molleken, Saskatoon Blades


Mike Johnston, Portland Winterhawks

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades


Tyson Barrie (Victoria, BC), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player, Brad Hornung Trophy

Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs


Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades

More News
Blades Uncut: Episode 19 (Cam Moon)
2 days ago
Black Friday sales are nearly here!
3 days ago
Blades Uncut: Episode 18 (Warren Peters)
1 week ago
Rhinehart representing Blades in CHL Memorial eCup
1 week ago
We're opening up in Midtown Plaza!
1 week ago
WHL launches T's For Toys Campaign to raise funds for children during the holidays
2 weeks ago